Scriptapalooza is here!


I thought your readers might be interested in learning about Scriptapalooza, the annual screenwriting competition.

Now in its twelfth year, Scriptapalooza has grown to be one of the world’s most recognized screenwriting competitions with over 40 scripts optioned, two Emmy winners and is as the only screenwriting competition endorsed by the WGA.

Every script that is entered into Scriptapalooza is read by a manager, agent or producer at 90 participating companies including Disney, Miramax, Big Light, and Bender-Spink, among others. And unlike other screenwriting competitions, every person who reads a Scriptapalooza script is named on (

What sets Scriptapalooza apart is that it offers what even the largest grand prize could never buy: a guarantee that an “unsolicited” script will be read by leading industry decision-makers. The first place winner, chosen by Scriptapalooza, receives a $10,000 grand prize. In addition, the Scriptapalooza staff will promote the semifinalists and finalists for a full year after the winners are announced.

Deadlines are as follows:

  • “early bird” deadline is January 5, 2010 (application fee $40)
  • regular deadline is March 5, 2010 (application fee $50)
  • final deadline is April 15, 2010 (application fee $55) 

Please visit for more information.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s