10 QUESTIONS FOR…Timothy Warneka, black belt/leadership author

Standard

 Author interview with Timothy Warnekacslfront-white150-c1warnekapew100

A nationally-recognized human performance expert, Timothy Warneka provides keynote speeches, leadership coaching and consulting to organizations across the country. Interested in the connection between spirituality, embodiment and leadership, Mr. Warneka is the author of four books, including LEADING PEOPLE THE BLACK BELT WAY: CONQUERING THE FIVE CORE PROBLEMS FACING LEADERS TODAY; and THE WAY OF LEADING PEOPLE: UNLOCKING YOUR INTEGRAL LEADERSHIP SKILLS WITH THE TAO TE CHING; and his latest book BLACK BELT LEADER, PEACEFUL LEADER: AN INTRODUCTION TO CATHOLIC SERVANT LEADERSHIP. Mr. Warneka lives in Cleveland, Ohio with his wife and two children.

 

1. Tell us about your latest book.

 

My latest book is BLACK BELT LEADER, PEACEFUL LEADER: AN INTRODUCTION TO CATHOLIC SERVANT LEADERSHIP, which combines principles from Servant Leadership, Roman Catholic social justice teachings, and the revolutionary non-violent martial art of Aikido.

I’m currently working on a video series for Catholic Servant Leadership, beginning with a video that show what Catholic Servant Leaders can learn from Ebenezer Scrooge. Stay tuned to www.catholicservantleader.com for more on this series.

 

2. How did you get started as a writer?

9/11 started my writing career. At the time of the terrorist attack, I was working with children and adolescents as a licensed clinical counselor. A number of parents contacted me about how to best speak with their kids about 9/11, so I wrote: “Ten Tips for Talking to Children About Terrorism.”

“Ten Tips” soon took on a life of its own. I heard from people and professionals from around the work who found my words helpful.

That’s when I knew I wanted to write.

Interested readers can find “Ten Tips for Talking to Children About Terrorism” here:

http://www.timwarneka.com/PDF/10tipstotsWEB.pdf

3. What does a typical day look like for you?

I don’t have a typical day … which I love! One day I may be giving a keynote speech in Los Angeles. On another day, I might be lecturing at a college, or seeing clients in my counseling/coaching practice. Or writing. Or cooking dinner as my kids get off the bus from school.

Every day is different!

4. Describe your desk/workspace.

A complete mess! Right now I’m in a very creative space … and the more creative I get, the messier my workspace gets! 🙂

5. Favorite books (especially for writers)

I find that I either read or write. Right now I’m writing.

6. Tell us 3 interesting/crazy things about you

I have a black belt in the martial art of Aikido.

I’m an intensive introvert who makes a living speaking to large crowds.

I love growing roses.

7. Favorite quote

“Enlightenment is not imagining figures of light but making the darkness conscious.”

– C. G. Jung

8. Best and worst part of being a writer

Best part: Having to isolate myself in order to write.

Worst part: Having to isolate myself in order to write.

9. Advice for other writers

1. Creativity and insanity are close sisters. Don’t be afraid to follow your creative muse wherever s/he takes you!

2. Always remember that writing a book is engaging in a relational process with an idea.

3. Make sure you have enough support to write. I’ve never regretted a dime I’ve spent on writing coaches.

10. Tell us a story about your writing experience

After my “Ten Tips” article went out, I heard back from a couple who had watched with their three year old son as the planes crashed into the towers. The couple were very open in telling me how much my article had helped them talk to their son.

Their letter moved me deeply … I’ll always remember the power of the written word.

Where can people buy your books?

Timothy Warneka’s books are available through Amazon.com and other on-line booksellers, as well as wherever quality books are sold. His books can also be purchased through the publisher, Asogomi Publishing International at:

www.asogomi.com

For more information, please visit:

www.timwarneka.com

www.blackbeltconsultants.com

www.catholicservantleader.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment