10 Questions for…Alysa Braceau, “The Sorcerer’s Dream”

Standard

Author interview with Alysa Braceau, Dreamshield

I am Dreamshield, Alysa Braceau and I live in the Netherlands (Europe) with my 6-year-old daughter. I studied social work and the last ten years I developed my (freelance) writing. I combine my writing now with my Healing Practice and being a publisher. Besides that I also give workshops about Mastering the Art of Conscious Dreaming and Dream Healing.

The Sorcerer’s Dream is my first book. The theme of the past years has been the sorcerer’s tradition and mastering conscious dreaming. I have carefully recorded my personal experiences which finally led to this first book.

1. Tell us about your latest book.

The Sorcerer’s Dream is about my initiation into the sorcerer’s world and mastering conscious dreaming. This spiritual adventure takes the reader throughout the magic realms of the unknown.

You can read and learn more about:

Mastering conscious dreaming, dreaming practices,  traveling to the unknown, dreaming and the meaning of sexual energy, the healing of your inner child and the way to reach the totality of the self by facing and releasing your emotional,  physical and spiritual blocks.

2. How did you get started as a writer?

I started writing about ten years ago as a freelancer for magazines about my own experiences following spiritual New Age workshops and courses. Since I felt more and more energetic doing the things I liked (writing and developing my spiritual side), I continued on this path.

3. What does a typical day look like for you?

I have a lot of variety in my work but I can tell you how a day looks when I start a writing project. My day starts (after breakfast) with taking a walk in the dunes nearby because the fresh air and the natural beauty relaxes me and gives me inspiration. Then I make a pot of coffee for myself and then my writing starts at about 10 a.m.. I take a short lunch after about three hours and continue till about 5 p.m.. I prefer non-stop writing and of course I write after dinner. After bringing my daughter to bed I might start writing a few more hours.

4. Describe your workspace.

My workspace is on the second floor, an attic kind of place with the desk at the window with a good view over the neighborhood. You will find all kinds of books on my desk, a telephone and a printer on a desk to my left, and under my keyboard a world map. This world map is obviously saying: I like to travel to the nicest spots on this globe. Doesn’t sound very romantic, does it? But … there is enough silence to write, I hear the birds whistle outside  and sometimes I hear the doves walk over the roof.

5. Favorite books (especially for writers)

Books were writers/adventurers explore other worlds like Carlos Castaneda, Lynn Andrews, Paulo Coelho.

6. Tell us 3 interesting/crazy things about you

1. I always try to do things as if I’m quite normal (but If you read my book you know I’m not);

2. I am afraid of water and I have a broom so I must be a witch;

3. And YES: I can travel with my dream body and visit places I want to visit in my dreaming (and you can learn that too, it’s exciting!).

7. Favorite quote

Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the things you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
— Mark Twain

8. Best and worst part of being a writer

The best is the writing itself.

Worst is that I cannot stop writing once I start writing (a book) and almost forget to eat, drink and… live.

9. Advice for other writers

… Don’t forget to publish your work… and… don’t be shy.

10. Tell us a story about your writing experience.

When I start promoting my book in the Netherlands I performed by singing a song on the Dam square in Amsterdam accompanied by my 6-year-old daughter on the xylophone.

After the song I started talking about my book and it felt good to find out that lots of people stopped by and listened in a circle around us. When I finished my speech, they didn’t ask for my book but rather for my daughter to play another song on the xylophone. My daughter smiled at me and the show was hers!

Where can people buy your book?

The Sorcerer’s dream, an initiation into the sorcerer’s world and mastering conscious dreaming.

Buy it at: http://www.booklocker.com/books/4654.html

Also available via Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Sorcerers-Dream-Dreamshield-Alysa-Braceau/dp/1609101561

Please visit my website: www.dreamshield.nl

Blog: http://dreamshield.wordpress.com

We invite you to join s on the virtual tour for The Sorcerer’s Dream by Alysa Braceau (Dreamshield). The full schedule can be seen at http://bookpromotionservices.com/2010/05/03/sorcerers-dream.  You can learn much more about Dreamshield and her work on her website – www.dreamshield.nl. The book can be ordered on Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Sorcerers-Dream-Dreamshield-Alysa-Braceau/dp/1609101561. SPECIAL OFFER – Every time you post a comment on any tour post – you will be entered into a drawing for a $35 Amazon gift card — so, share your thoughts with us.

About The Sorcerer’s Dream: An Initiation into the Sorcerer’s World

This is the autobiographical story of a young woman bumping into the enigmatic sorcerer Running Deer and her initiation into the sorcerer’s world and mastering conscious dreaming. It takes the reader throughout the magic realms of the unknown and gives a new approach to the traditional training of women sorcerers.

The riveting autobiographical account The Sorcerer’s Dream written by Dreamshield takes the reader throughout the magic realms of the unknown and mastering conscious dreaming. This book, following the traditions of Carlos Castaneda and others, gives a new approach to the traditional training of women sorcerers.

The author describes her initiation into the surrealistic world of dreaming and magic, following the teachings of ‘Man of Knowledge’ Running Deer. In the heart of Amsterdam, a thrilling stride unfolds in obtaining the knowledge of the Second Reality on the way to the ultimate goal: finding the Totality of the Self!

The combination of unusual instructions and experiences within the sorcerer’s world and the level-headedness of a very Dutch woman offers the reader excitement and contemplation on the way to the source of this reality, finding the ultimate self through the experiences and understanding of Dreamshield herself. Up until the last page the reader remains intrigued whether Dreamshield will reach her goal.


4 responses »

  1. Hi Wendy –

    Thank you for sharing information about Alysa and her book – it is a very unique book.

  2. Pingback: Wendy Burt Interviews Alysa Braceau author of The Sorcerer’s Dream « Promo 101 Promotional Services

  3. Hi Wendy,

    Thank you very much for your interest in my work and for placing the interview on your blog.
    Good luck with your work and I wish you and your visitors all the best.

    Alysa

  4. Pingback: The Sorcerer’s Dream by Alysa Braceau, Dreamshield « Promo 101 Promotional Services

Leave a comment