10 QUESTIONS FOR…Lynda Hilburn, author of “The Vampire Shrink”

Standard

Author interview with Lynda Hilburn

Lynda Hilburn writes paranormal fiction. More specifically, she writes vampire books. After a childhood filled with invisible friends, sightings of dead relatives and a fascination with the occult, turning to the paranormal was a no-brainer. In her other reality, she makes her living as a licensed psychotherapist, hypnotherapist, professional psychic/tarot reader, university instructor and workshop presenter. Her first novel, “The Vampire Shrink” — which introduced us to Denver Psychologist Kismet Knight and a hidden vampire underworld — was released by Medallion Press, October, 2007. The second book in the series, “Dark Harvest,” released October, 2008. Several more books are planned. Her short story, “Blood Song,” is part of the “Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance” anthology, April, 2009. For more information, visit Lynda’s website:  www.lyndahilburnauthor.com

Tell us about your latest book.

My latest novel is the second in my Kismet Knight, Vampire Psychologist series. The first was called The Vampire Shrink and the second, Dark Harvest. The series explores the ongoing story of a Denver psychologist who stumbles into a hidden vampire underworld. The books blend genres: urban fantasy, romance, mystery, humor, sex and are written with a contemporary vibe.

2. How did you get started as a writer?

I wrote nonfiction for a long time: articles, columns, various teaching materials and case studies. In 2003, I discovered the wonderful world of paranormal romance. I’d been a vampire fanatic since childhood, when I read Bram Stoker’s Dracula, but I hadn’t considered writing fiction myself. Something about the blending of paranormal aspects with romance really got my attention, and, after exploring the genre, I got excited about writing my own vampire books. After a session in my psychotherapy office, involving a young client who talked about wanting to belong to a non-ordinary species, the idea of writing about a Denver Psychologist who counsels vampires was born!

3. What does a typical day look like for you?

That question made me smile. There are no typical days. I work for a mental health center 4 days per week, and I have a private practice on Mondays. Evenings and weekends I do singing activities and try to get some writing in.  I do best when I have a few disciplines and routines, such as using my treadmill twice per day (morning and evening) for 30 minutes per session. It would be great to have a personal life, and I’m thinking about how I can work that into the schedule! I haven’t even thought about going on a date in years (I’m divorced).

4. Describe your workspace.

I live in a “garden level” apartment in a lovely home. My computer sits on a huge table, surrounded by files, books, magazines, office equipment and various papers. There are vampire posters on the walls around me. I keep the TV on in the background for noise. I can’t play music because I’m a singer and music distracts me.

5. Favorite books (especially for writers)

I’m a fan of good stories. All of my favorite books are fiction. J.D. Robb’s “Eve Dallas” series. Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” series. Anne Rice’s books. The “Dexter” books. So many I can’t even think of all of them!

6. Tell us 3 interesting/crazy things about you

Hmmm. I don’t know if it’s interesting or crazy, but in addition to being a psychotherapist and hypnotherapist, I also work as a psychic/tarot reader. I’ve done that since I was a teenager. I sing in a rock and roll band. I write vampire books. I have clients who talk about being abducted by aliens. I had a childhood filled with ghosts and bizarre situations. My favorite programs are about a serial killer (“Dexter”) and a narcissistic genius (“House”).

7. Favorite quote

“Argue for your limitations and you get to keep them.” – Richard Bach, Illusions

8. Best and worst part of being a writer

Best part is typing the words, “the end.” LOL. Worst is forcing yourself to sit in the chair long enough to get the words out.

9. Advice for other writers

It really is true that you should never give up. Read stories about other writers and how many dark times they had to overcome before achieving whatever they consider success. Just when you think it’s all over, it begins again. Be persistent, tenacious and stubborn. Keep writing. Keep laughing.

10. Tell us a story about your writing experience.

I don’t have one specific story. Since I had no experience writing fiction for publication, I did a lot of impulsive things for the first couple of years. I didn’t know about any “rules” regarding genre writing or publishing, so I did what I wanted. I made lots of mistakes! I talked WAY too much. Gave my opinion MUCH too freely. The entire experience of writing, selling, and publishing books has been humbling.

Where can people buy your books?

My books can be purchased at a book store near you, as well as online outlets (Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble.com, Borders.com and many others). Website: http://www.lyndahilburnauthor.com, blog: http://paranormalityuniverse.blogspot.com

2 responses »

  1. Great interview! I really, really enjoyed The Vampire Shrink and Dark Harvest. I’m not quite sure why the idea of a shrink who has vamps for patients hasn’t been explored more often. Goodness knows they have issues!

  2. Pingback: Undead Hunger | Literary Escapism

Leave a comment